Breaking News


How to get India e-Visa for Swedish Citizens

Government of India has not authorized any agent or intermediary to charge any fee for facilitation of any category of Indian Visa for Swedish Citizens / regular or emergency visa. For travel to India an e-visa / regular visa along with passport is mandatory. Only applicants from countries exempted under bilateral arrangements may not need a visa to travel to India.

All applicants are requested not to deal with other websites that do not belong to the Government of India. Embassy of India does not have any role in issue of e-Visa as it is issued directly from New Delhi. Its confirmation or otherwise will come to you in your e-mail. Kindly take a print out of the confirmation while traveling to India.

Those traveling to India are also advised to go through instructions available on the website of Bureau of Immigration at


All e-Visa applicants desiring to travel to India may kindly note that the Government of India website for applying e-Visa is

Important information on e-Visa

  1. It has been noticed that many fake websites have cropped up offering Indian e-Visa to foreign nationals. All are advised not to visit / make any payment through fake websites for applying Indian e-Visa. Indian Embassy / Government of Indian will not be responsible for payments made to these fake websites. The Correct website is
  2. The web-page also guides the applicants on filling up the application form and provides sub-links ( ) with information related to “Instructions to Applicants” and “List of Countries / Nationalities who are eligible to avail e-Visa.”
  3. Two important requirements for entry into India upon receipt of Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) is that

(i) the passport of the Indian Visa for Italian Citizens should have validity of at least six months from date of arrival in India and it should contain at least two blank pages for stamping by the Immigration Officer.

(ii) The applicant must travel on the Passport on which he has applied for e-Visa. Entry will be allowed into India on the new passport even if ETA has been issued on the old passport, however in such cases a traveler must carry the old passport on which ETA was issued.


e-Visa has 6 sub-categories i.e.

  1. e-Tourist Visa
  2. e-Business Visa
  3. e-Conference Visa
  4. e-Medical Visa
  5. e-Medical Attendant Visa and
  6. e-Emergency X-Misc Visa.


  1. e-Visa facility shall not be available to holders of Diplomatic/Official and UN passports.
  2. Pakistani Passport or Pakistani origin may please apply for regular Visa at Indian Mission.