Breaking News

José Joly, Irene Vallejo And News Media Europe, Winners At 2021 Heraldo Awards

Heraldo de Aragón celebrates this coming Thursday, September 16 , the XVIII edition of its annual awards that on this occasion recognize the work of the president of the Joly communication group, José Joly Martínez de Salazar (‘Antonio Mompeón Motos de Periodismo’), from the writer Irene Vallejo (‘Human Values ​​and Knowledge’) and the European media association News Media Europe (‘HENNEO’).

These awards will be presented during a gala, at the newspaper’s printing plant, which will bring together Aragonese society and whose capacity is limited in compliance with health regulations.

In this 18th edition, the Antonio Mompeón Motorcycles Journalism Award, which honors the memory of the person who was the head of Heraldo de Aragón in the first half of the 20th century, corresponds to José Joly Martínez de Salazar, president of the Joly Group, the most journalistic company ancient of Spain.

He belongs to the fifth generation of a publishing family that began in 1867 with the founding of Diario de Cádiz by his great-great-grandfather, Federico Joly Velasco. Currently this group publishes nine newspapers in Cádiz, Jerez, Algeciras, Seville, Córdoba, Huelva, Granada, Málaga and Almería, while facing the digital transformation.

The Award for Human Values ​​and Knowledge was created by Heraldo to reward those Aragonese who have distinguished themselves especially for their personality and for their contribution to the social or cultural improvement of their fellow citizens.

This year it recognizes the writer and philologist Irene Vallejo , author of El infinito en un junco , an entire publishing phenomenon that has received an extraordinary reception among readers and critics and has also been recognized with such prestigious awards as the National Essay Award . Passionate about the dissemination of classical authors, she collaborates with various media, including Heraldo de Aragón .

And the HENNEO Award, in its third edition, falls in 2021 to the European media association News Media Europe , an organization that brings together more than 2,400 European media. This award recognizes his work in defense of the sector and in favor of press freedom as the basis of democracy in Europe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.