Breaking News

Window Tint

What Is the Legal Window Tint Percentage in My State?

You might be wondering, “What is the legal window tint percentage in my state?”

Window tinting is a common way to personalize your car, and it can also offer some protection from the sun. But depending on your state, there may be restrictions on how dark your window tint can be.

In this article, we’ll provide a breakdown of the legal window tint percentage in every state. So whether you’re looking to get your car tinted for the first time, or you’re just curious about the legality of it in your area, read on for more information.

Window Tinting Laws by State in USA

StateFront SidesRear SidesRear WindowWindshield
Alabama32%32%32%6″
Alaska70%40%30%5″
Arizona33%ANYANYAS1
Arkansas25%25%10%5″
California70%ANYANY4″
Colorado27%27%27%4″
Connecticut35%35%ANYAS1
Delaware70%ANYANYAS1
District of Columbia70%50%50%5″/AS1
Florida28%15%15%AS1
Georgia32%32%32%6″
Hawaii32%35%35%70% light
Idaho35%20%35%AS1
Illinois35%35%35%6″
Indiana30%30%30%AS1
Iowa70%ANYANYAS1
Kansas35%35%35%AS1
Kentucky35%18%18%AS1
Louisiana40%25%12%AS1
Maine35%ANYANY4″
Maryland35%35%35%5″
Massachusetts35%35%35%6″
Michigan4″ANYANY4″
Minnesota50%50%50%NONE
Mississippi28%28%28%AS1
Missouri35%ANYANYAS1
Montana24%14%14%AS1
Nebraska35%20%20%5″/AS1
Nevada35%ANYANYAS1
New HampshireNONE35%35%6″
New JerseyNONEANYANYNONE
New Mexico20%20%20%5″/AS1
New York70%70%ANY6″
North Carolina35%35%35%AS1
North Dakota50%ANYANY<70%
Ohio50%ANYANY<70%
Oklahoma25%25%25%5″/AS1
Oregon35%35%35%6″
Pennsylvania70%70%70%NONE
Rhode Island70%70%70%AS1
South Carolina27%27%27%AS1
South Dakota35%20%20%AS1
Tennessee35%35%35%AS1
Texas25%25%ANY5″/AS1
Utah43%ANYANYAS1
VermontNONEANY32%32%
Virginia50%35%35%AS1
Washington24%24%24%6″
West Virginia35%35%35%5″
Wisconsin50%35%35%AS1
Wyoming28%28%28%5″/AS1

Understanding the Benefits of Window Tint

Window tinting is not just a cosmetic upgrade for your car. It also has a number of practical benefits that can make your life easier. For one, it can keep your car cooler in the summer months, and help to keep the interior of your car from fading over time.

But perhaps the most important benefit of window tinting is the fact that it can keep you and your passengers safe in the event of an accident. Window tinting film helps to hold shattered glass in place if the window is broken, which can prevent serious injury in the event of an accident.

Reasoning Behind Tint Restrictions

Window tinting is a popular way to customize your car, but did you know that there are restrictions on how dark the tint can be in each state?

Most states have a legal window tint percentage that is specified in the law. This percentage is the maximum amount of light that can be blocked by the tint.

There are a few reasons for these restrictions. First, darker tint can make it difficult for drivers to see out of the car, especially at night. Second, it can be a safety hazard to have too much tint on the windows, as it makes it difficult for law enforcement officers to see inside the car.

Legal Window Tint

Window tinting is a popular way to customize your car, and while many states have laws regulating the percentage of tint that can be applied to the windows, each state has different regulations.

You’ll need to know what the legal window tint percentage is in your state before you have any work done, as you don’t want to end up with windows that are too dark and can’t be seen through. You also don’t want to get pulled over and get a ticket for violating the law.

Most states allow for a certain percentage of visible light transmission (VLT), which is the amount of light that can pass through the window. You’ll want to stay within this percentage to avoid any trouble with the law. Consult this guide to find out the legal window tint percentage in your state.

Windshield Tinting

You might be wondering why there are different regulations for the front windshield. Well, the answer is pretty simple—it’s because of visibility.

The front windshield is usually made of tinted glass, but the level of tinting can vary from state to state. In most cases, the windshield can be tinted as long as the driver can see through it.

However, there are a few states that have more strict regulations. For example, in North Carolina, the front windshield can’t be tinted at all. And in Kentucky, the tinting can’t exceed 50 percent.

So if you’re ever unsure about the regulations in your state, it’s always best to check with your local DMV or police department.

Side and Back Windows

For side windows or the rear window, light transmission must be greater than 35%. You can achieve this by going with a 70% film. Again, we recommend staying away from any film that is darker than 50%.

Exceptions

There are always exceptions to the rule, and when it comes to window tinting, there are a few. In some states, you’re allowed to have a darker tint if you have medical conditions that require it. For example, in California, people with chronic light sensitivity or photo-dermatosis can apply for a permit for a darker tint.

The other exception has to do with the front windshield. In most states, you’re not allowed to have any sort of tint on the windshield, except for the very top. But there are a few states that allow for a small strip at the top of the windshield to be tinted. So if you’re ever unsure, it’s best to check with your local DMV.

Get the Right Amount of Tint for Your Car

The amount of tint you can have on your car’s windows varies from state to state. And while you might think that the darker the tint, the better, that’s not always the case.

In fact, too much tint can actually be illegal in some states. So how do you know how much is too much?

The answer is actually pretty simple—it all depends on the state you live in. Every state has its own laws when it comes to window tinting, so be sure to check before you get your car tinted.

Here’s a quick rundown of the legal window tint percentage in each state:

-Alabama: The front windshield can have up to 50% VLT, while the front side windows must have a VLT of 35%. The back windshield and rear side windows can have any VLT.

-Alaska: The front windshield can have up to 50% VLT, while the front side and back windows must have a VLT of 35%. The rear windshield can have any VLT.

-Arizona: The front windshield can have up to 33% VLT, while the front side windows must have a VLT of no more than 50%. The back windshield and rear side windows can have any VLT.

-Arkansas: The front windshield can have up to 25% VLT, while the front side and rear windows must have a VLT of 35%. The back windshield can have any VLT.

Conclusion

So, there you have it—the legal window tint percentage in every state. Be sure to check your local laws before you get your windows tinted, and always err on the side of caution to avoid getting a ticket. And, if you’re ever in doubt, ask a professional!